[Return to main site] 

Can't Connect Bean Through University Network

I am a university student, so I brought my Bean to the university and connected it to the student residential network through ethernet. I had successfully printed with the machine a couple of times earlier on a home/personal network during the holidays, but now that I am back at my university I am having a hard time connecting to the printer interface.

Some things I noted:

• The personal network that did work didn’t let me use “kudo3d.local/”, I had to type in the IP address that was assigned to the printer by the network to get to the printer interface.
  • I don’t have access to the university network’s connected devices’ IP addresses; at least not the same way I would on the personal network (by going into the router settings and finding it).
  • The wireless repeater provided with the Bean is not proving to be helpful. The university requires a username and password with each device login, and the repeater, as far as I know, can’t connect to a network that needs that kind of information.
  • I also thought I could use the repeater as a standalone router and have a network to use the bean with, but with no internet access. That didn’t work, but it could just be that I have no idea what I’m doing in that area.
  • I knew this from the start, but the Bean itself can’t be connected to via ethernet. It was worth a shot though.

Any ideas on how I can get connected to my machine?

It is possible that your university is blocking the Bonjour discovery packets used by the Bean’s raspberry pi to announce its IP address. You need to somehow get the Bean and your computer on a network that will allow those naming packets to be sent.