[Return to main site] 

New to 3D printer, what do I do?

I’m new to 3D printing but far from new to computers and software. I built my Titan 1 yesterday and been trying to find out how to go about printing one of my sketchup spaceship models.

I might have looked in the wrong places, but there is little or no explanation on the printing process.

1. exporting a model for printing purposes should be easy.
  2. I see many videos show prints that have supports, do I have to model these into my 3D model or will the Kudo 3D print software calculate these into my print and set them up where needed?
  3. Printing a cube for example, how do I avoid getting a massive filled cube? Do I need to model it’s inside as well?

Hi @Shocknolt,
You should start with the printing guide listed here http://www.kudo3d.com/downloads_manuals/ It will detail the process for you and shows (to some degree) how to use Creation Workshop to create supports. After doing that it’s basically just trial and error.

At the very bottom of the downloads page, you can find some good starting profiles and example files. Note that noe of these are for the default setup of a 192x108 projected area, so they will require you to adjust the height of your projector to fit. This calibration grid will come in handy for that.

You can also try the settings on this page that should be for 192x108 (100um XY resolution).

Ok, so rigging supports and hollowing out the models is left to our own. The next hurdle is knowing what all the various parameters do and what values to set when you print…I knew this wasn’t easy when I first set out to purchase the Titan 1, but this part is insane…seems the easiest part of 3D printing is creating the actual models, and that is a tough job on it’s own…

Seems the test print is days away yet, so the printer goes back into it’s package and down into the basement for storage.